Create your own conference schedule! Click here for full instructions

Abstract Detail

Recent Topics Posters

Seonhwa, Kim [1], Vujanovic, Vladimir [2].

Sphaerodes mycoparasitic effect on biological prevention and control of Fusarium mycotoxins.

Some 30% of the world’s agricultural commodities are contaminated with mycotoxins to a certain degree. Fusarium Head Blight causes significant losses in grain yield and quality, while posing serious risks for food safety and security.  Several strategies have been employed to control FHB and mitigate the concentration of mycotoxins in cereal grains worldwide. The fungus Sphaerodes mycoparasitica Vujan. is a host-specific biocontrol agent for preventing Fusaria (F. graminearum, F. culmorum, F. avenaceum and F. oxysporum) infection in crops. F. graminearum and F culmorum can synthesize potent mycotoxins such as zearalenone (ZEN) and deoxynivalenol (DON) in infected grain. Hence, the biodegradation of these mycotoxins by S. mycoparasitica was tested in vitro and analyzed by thin-layer chromatography (TLC) and high performance liquid chromatography-electrospray ionization-high resolution mass spectrometry (HPLC-ESI-HRMS). The biotransformants of the mycotoxins were also assessed using HPLC-ESI-HRMS.  The results showed that S. mycoparasitica was effective to degrade ZEN, DON, 15-ADON, and 3-ADON by 97%, 89%, 72%, and 60%, respectively. The findings confirmed that S. mycoparasitica may not only prevent FHB infection in cereals, but also it may improve grain quality and safety by degrading and/or transforming mycotoxins to harmless metabolites.

Log in to add this item to your schedule

1 - University of Saskatchewan, Food and Bioproduct Sciences, 51 Campus dr., Saskatoon, SK, S7N5A8, Canada
2 - University of Saskatchewan, Food and Bioproduct Sciences, 51Campus Dr., Saskatoon, SK, S7N5A8, Canada


Presentation Type: Recent Topics Poster
Session: P
Location: Hall D/The Shaw Conference Centre
Date: Monday, July 27th, 2015
Time: 5:30 PM
Number: PRT026
Abstract ID:1810
Candidate for Awards:None

Copyright 2000-2015, Botanical Society of America. All rights reserved