Create your own conference schedule! Click here for full instructions

Abstract Detail

Mycological Section

Glaeser, Jessie [1], Richter, Dana [2].

Wood Decay by Chlorociboria aeruginescens (Nyl.) Kanouse (Heliotiales, Leotiaceae) and Associated Basidiomycete Fungi.

Two isolates of Chlorociboria aeruginescens (Nyl.) Kanouse incubated axenically on aspen wood blocks resulted in 18% and 32% weight loss after 134 wks (2 yrs 8 mo). Aspen wood decayed by C. aeruginescens contained cavities in the S2 layer of the secondary cell wall, indicative of Type I soft rot attack. Erosion troughs, overall thinning and erosion of wood cell walls resembled decay by Type II soft rot fungi. Using a selective medium, basidiomycete fungi were isolated from a variety of tree species colonized and stained by Chlorociboria sp. (putatively C. aeruginescens) in a mixed hardwood forest from northern North America. Nine of the samples yielded isolates of basidiomycete fungi identified by ITS sequencing and cultural tests as species of common white rot fungi. In axenic decay tests with aspen blocks, basidiomycete isolates caused weight losses in the range of 10% to 50% after 26 wks incubation. Co-inoculating basidiomycete isolates with an isolate of C. aeruginescens did not result in significant differences in weight loss. These results suggest that decay of wood colonized by C. aeruginescens is principally caused by white rot fungi and is neither enhanced nor inhibited by the presence of C. aeruginescens.

Log in to add this item to your schedule

1 - U.S. Forest Service, Center for Forest Mycology Research, Forest Products Laboratory, One Gifford Pinchot Dr., Madison, WI, 53726, USA
2 - Michigan Technological University, School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science, Houghton, MI, 49931, USA

green stain
soft rot
wood decay fungi.

Presentation Type: Poster:Posters for Sections
Session: P
Location: Hall D/The Shaw Conference Centre
Date: Monday, July 27th, 2015
Time: 5:30 PM
Number: PMY045
Abstract ID:450
Candidate for Awards:None

Copyright 2000-2015, Botanical Society of America. All rights reserved